Non Domestic

Non Domestic

Accredited NDEAs produce Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) for commercial buildings, offices, shops, factories etc. These will require an EPC when sold, rented or built.

NDEAs can be accredited at three levels:

Level 3 NDEA (CertNDEA L3)

Level 3 NDEAs are accredited to assess smaller, simpler existing buildings, with “frequently occurring” features, heating systems less than 100kW and natural ventilation or simple comfort cooling systems. This will include most small shop and office units. Level 3 NDEAs will carry out assessments using the SBEM methodology.

Level 4 NDEA (DipNDEA L4)

Level 4 NDEAs can assess larger and more complex or unusual buildings and new buildings, which can be assessed using the SBEM methodology.


ecmk offers NDEAs the option of using a range of software packages. Level 3 and 4 Assessors may use commercial SBEM applications from Builddesk (Carbon Checker), Design Builder and G-iSBEM as well as the free-to-use iSBEM interface. If your software isn't mentioned here, please contact us as we are able to work with all major software suppliers.


ecmk offer accreditation at Level 3 and 4 which will give you:

  • A licence to operate
  • A means of lodging the EPCs you produce with the Central Register
  • Technical survey support
  • On-going training for Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
  • The assurance of a quality control process.

All Energy Assessors are required to be members of an Accreditation Scheme.

Level 3 and 4 Non-Domestic Energy Assessors may accredit by holding the CertNDEA or DipNDEA qualification at the relevant level.

Contact ecmk for further details on 0333 123 1418 or email